NIFDA board members join new advisory panel

NIFDA board members Michael Bell and Declan Billington have joined a new advisory panel to find alternatives to the Brexit backstop for the Irish Border.

The new advisory group, one of three the Government has committed to setting up, will explore alternatives to replace the backstop by the end of 2020 – the end of the transition period under the terms of the Brexit deal – so the backstop would never have to be used.

The group met for the first time on 20th June, co-chaired by Brexit Secretary Stephen Barclay and Treasury Financial Secretary Jesse Norman. Other members of the 15-strong advisory group include PSNI Assistant Chief Constable Tim Mairs and Chief Executive of the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry Mike Thompson.

The Government has made £20m of funding available to support the development, testing or piloting of ideas, including those that emerge from these groups.